A Thousand Splendid Suns : A Memorable Book

I recently finished the book ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ by Khaled Hossieni ,after being moved by his first best seller ‘The Kite Runner’.This book is about the tragic lives of two Afghani women, during the Soviet invasion in Afghanistan. The contrast in the lives which appears after the invasion is certainly sufficient to move the hardest of hearts. It tells about the hardships they face as women during the tyrannous reign of the Taliban, prosecutions they have to suffer and sacrifices they have to make in order protect their own and the lives of their children.Personally I think this novel is the better of the two, despite the other being the worldwide bestseller. It just isn’t possible to read this book without being moved.The way I can tell that, is because whenever I read a book, I keep track of the number of pages I’ve read to know how fast I am, but while reading this book, I literally lost track of the pages, I was truly absorbed in the book. I strongly advise you to read this book and once you’re done with this, there’s no chance you will keep yourself from reading Khaled Hossieini’s other novel, The Kite Runner, if you haven’t already read it. Truly Khaled Hossieini’s greatest masterpiece.

Happy Reading!Looking forward to you comments and opinions.

In case you’re looking for an e-book, you can download it from here: A Thousand Splendid Suns

Leave a comment